Whether you’re an architect, general contractor, engineer, urban planner, design-builder, or anyone interested in accessibility in the built environment, qualifying for an RHFAC Professional designation will provide you with the knowledge and practical skills needed to rate a building for its overall accessibility under the RHFAC program. 

Once you obtain the RHFAC Professional designation, you will be publicly listed on the RHFAC Registry, hosted by CSA Group. 

Follow these steps to become an RHFAC Professional, the only individuals qualified to conduct an RHFAC rating. For further information, read our RHFAC Professional Designation Guide. 

How to become an RHF accessible certification professional

How to become an RHF Accessibility Certification Professional and maintain your designation

1. Pass the RHFAC Accessibility Assessor Training Course. 

Participants in this course will learn about: 

  • The impact of the social and physical environment on people with disabilities;
  • The relevant legislation, regulations, and standards needed when planning and executing an assessment;
  • The Universal Design principles and standards when planning and executing an assessment;
  • How to interpret and navigate a set of construction drawings; and
  • How to communicate and support assessment findings to clients, and prepare a recommendation report of the assessment findings, reflecting compliance and gaps related to relevant human rights and accessibility legislation, regulations, and Universal Design standards.

Prerequisites include the following:

  • You have a diploma of technology in architecture, engineering, urban planning, interior design or a related program; or
  • You have a Journeyman Certificate of Qualification in a designated trade related to building construction; or
  • You are an engineer or are eligible for registration as an engineer; or
  • You are an architect or are eligible for registration as an architect; or
  • You have a minimum of five years’ experience related to building construction.

See the list of upcoming training courses below.

Note: For course-specific information, including delivery and registration, please contact the listed institution directly.

2. Gain field experience.

If you passed the course before July 2018, you will need to gain additional field experience before qualifying for the designation. All courses taking place after August 2018 will include the field experience requirement.  

You must conduct five on-site visits, under the supervision of a designated RHFAC Professional, and complete the RHFAC Ratings Workbook for each project. This requirement totals five ratings and a minimum of 20 hours. 

3. Pass the examination.  

The RHFAC Professional Exam must be taken within 12 months of completing the above Training Course. This exam is designed to test your understanding of the general concepts and principles taught in the Training Course, but is administered separately through the CSA Group and its third party test provider, Kryterion. 

The exam is computer-based and can be taken at one of 45 test centres across Canada, or online with remote monitoring.  You must register for the exam, pay a fee, and take the exam before you can qualify for the RHFAC Professional designation. To register and pay for the exam, please visit the CSA Store. 

The RHFAC Professional Designation Guide provides information on how to prepare for the exam.  

4. Apply for RHFAC Professional designation and sign up to the RHFAC Registry. 

Once you have completed steps 1-3 above, you can apply directly to RHF for the RHFAC Professional designation by emailing the following to access@rickhansen.com

  • Official transcripts from the institution demonstrating you have passed the RHFAC Accessibility Assessor Training Course;
  • Official letter (PDF) from CSA Group demonstrating you have passed RHFAC Professional Exam (not an email with preliminary results); and
  • For individuals who completed their Accessibility Assessor training prior to July 2018: a signed confirmation letter from your Assessor supervisor using the Field Experience Template Letter.

Once awarded your RHFAC Professional designation, RHF will provide you with 

  • a membership letter and ID; and
  • information on how to request access and be publicly listed as a designated RHFAC Professional on the RHFAC Registry. 
5. Uphold your designation. 

Your RHFAC Professional designation has no expiry date. To uphold the designation, you must follow:

  • The RHFAC Professional Code of Ethics; and
  • Continuing education requirements; and
  • Policies regarding the use of RHF logos and marks.
Upcoming courses

Upcoming RHFAC Accessibility Assessor Training Courses

To complete the RHFAC Accessibility Assessor training, please register directly with the educational institution offering the course. Please be advised that RHF does not provide any funding or subsidies for Accessibility Assessor training. Participants are required to cover the course fee, plus any associated costs.





Vancouver Community College (VCC)

April 1 - 12, 2019 

(48 hours)

Vancouver, BC

Registration Coming Soon

Southern Alberta Institute of Technology (SAIT)

April 24 - 27, 2019 and May 8 - 11, 2019

(48 hours)

Calgary, AB

Register Online

Register by Phone: 403.284.7248

George Brown College

October 25 - 28, 2018 and November 8 - 11, 2018

(48 hours)

Toronto, ON

Register Online

Nova Scotia Community College

October 17 - November 3, 2018

Halifax, NS

Learn More


Have a question about the RHFAC program?

Please email access@rickhansen.com, or view the Professional Designation Guide. 

Stay in Touch

Receive Foundation emails to stay up-to-date on our impact and programs.